Squirreltech

April 29, 2010

Finger Tracking Options

Filed under: Uncategorized — squirreltech @ 10:13 pm

I did some looking on youtube of course, and found some pretty crazy stuff. That last one is my favorite, and ultimately something I would like to get to. I set an email to the poster guy but he’s a bum and didn’t email me back 😦

I discovered three plausible (for me) ways in which to do finger tracking.

  1. Tracking a color on my finger
  2. Tracking an AR marker
  3. HAAR like feature tracking.

HAAR sounded too much like I would need to learn a lot about computer vision to make it “learn” what a finger looks like. On the other hand, this doesn’t require any physical objects except my fingers, and I am suspecting would be more robust.

I don’t own a printer so tracking an AR marker would require heading to Kinko’s or more likely Emily’s to steal some paper and maybe a kiss. 🙂

So, color tracking seemed like the best idea… At least for now. It seemed that processing was a good platform to get the concepts worked out. I’ve never really worked with stuff like the camera before, and I had no idea how to manipulate an image to capture one color spot, but that is what the internet is for, no?

Eventually, I found this post in the processing forums and decided I had a winner.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

